Chris Clinton

Amazon

Passion & Artistry That Rocks, November 11, 2014

This review is from: The Last Fair Deal (MP3 Music)

I bought the individual songs but I wanted to review the whole album since I liked it so much. Here goes: The words are poetic and the feeling is real. Chris Clinton debuts his first Indie rock album with heart and soul. It is a nice change of pace from slick, overproduced music. You can really hear the artist at work. This singer-songwriter shares Christian themes and everyday struggles. There is a catchy, upbeat tempo in 'Memphis' which captures Southern roots. The street-wise tale of 'Something They Need' rocks out with a bit of blues. The strong lead and backing vocals take center stage with a range from raw to smooth. But then the electric guitar takes over with a different rhythm. The advanced technique on the electric guitar seems natural and improvised. The Last Fair Deal by Chris Clinton brings new music home with passion and artistry.

Amazon

More Than a Feeling, November 5, 2014

Verified Purchase

This review is from: One Time or Another (MP3 Music)

There is a folk style to this song. The inspired melody is center stage and it urges the beat to go forward. The higher notes on background nicely balance the deeper voice. This song makes a good finish to the album with no loose ends.

Amazon

Angels, November 5, 2014

Verified Purchase

This review is from: Contagious Dream (MP3 Music)

The voice sounds a bit like Tom Petty singing the higher notes. The guitar starts out with a heavy beat and then it rolls into some down-home riffs. The lyrics say 'listen to the angels' so that you can feel the dream too.

 Comment | Permalink

Amazon

Excellent Melody, November 4, 2014

Verified Purchase

This review is from: Used to Be (MP3 Music)

This song has an excellent melody and a light twang for the electric guitar. The clear vocals and instruments are not weighed down by overproduced, digital techniques. Thinking about the past and a realistic tone makes this track stand out.

Amazon

Anthem, November 4, 2014

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: The Last Fair Deal (MP3 Music)

This title anthem has a steady beat like your heart gently pounding. I am still mulling over the lyrics and the meaning behind the song. Listening to good music like this is a stress-reliever.

Amazon

Rearview Mirror, November 3, 2014

Verified Purchase

This review is from: Leave It All Behind (MP3 Music)

Sometimes the best view is in the rearview mirror. The song is an honest prayer for the journey ahead. I enjoyed the harmony and that took the song to a higher level.

Amazon

Southern Swag, November 3, 2014

Verified Purchase

This review is from: Memphis (MP3 Music)

Going to Memphis seems like a pretty good idea to me. This song picks up the pace and it keeps you guessing with catchy vocals and instrumental storytelling. The voice introduces the guitar which then takes center stage. I don't like to play favorites, but okay, this might be my favorite.

Amazon

Feel The Sound, November 3, 2014

Verified Purchase

This review is from: Sea of Sound (MP3 Music)

I listened to the feel of the music more than the lyrics in this song. There is a tale to tell of regret and the wish to let the currents drag you down. But the singer and the instrumentals alternated in a way that caught my attention.

Amazon

God's Children, November 1, 2014

Verified Purchase

This review is from: We Are All (MP3 Music)

This song is a change of pace with a faster, medium tempo. The mood is hopeful and it proclaims that we are all God's children. You feel at home with the artist and the vocals.

Amazon

Wanting More, November 1, 2014

Verified Purchase

This review is from: Something They Need (MP3 Music)

The song begins with Christian themes about good intentions and longing for more. The rhythmic guitar adds to the mournful feel. This rock ballad is emotional but also street-wise

Amazon

Closing Time, October 30, 2014

Verified Purchase

This review is from: It Ain't Me (MP3 Music)

It might be closing time at the bar. The lights are low and the story is gritty. I am a blues fan and the man's story is sung and echoed with a familiar and slow pace. I liked the melody of this song and it stayed with me for a while. This singer-songwriter brings rock and blues together.

Amazon

Strong and Steady, October 27, 2014

Verified Purchase

This review is from: Where Did All the Good Times Go (MP3 Music)

I played this song several times to let it set a mood. The voice is strong and steady. My favorite part was the melody and the clear tone of the electric guitar. The lyrics tell a story of disappointment but with a kernel of hope.